Uncategorized

Podcast episode One | Show Notes

Hello everyone!

These are the show notes for my first podcast episode. First of all I’ll apologise for the sound and video quality, I only noticed it after finishing filming so I will try and get that sorted for you when episode two comes around.

First of all I started off  with the pair of socks I had started knitting for myself. The yarn I am  using is such a lovely squishy yarn with a bit of a halo, the brand is Stylecraft highlights DK with mohair and the shade was 1464 Aquarius. These were meant to be birthday socks this year, hence my star sign, but I never got round to them in time. I am using the afterthought heel in these socks and will probably continue to do so with all the socks I make because it is my favourite to knit.

I then spoke about the yarn bomb I have in progress in a local dog walking field. For this I just continue to make granny squares to put in each square of the fence but as you will see in the end of the video I had to start over as someone had taken down all 64(!!!) squares I had up on the first fence panel. The yarn I used for the teal square was Stylcraft Special Aran in 1062 Teal.

Another yarn bombing project I spoke about was how I was making some medium sized love hearts for the trees of the same dog park. I would like people to take these ones (rather than taking my squares) because I want to share the love. The yarn I’m using for these is some I was given by Morgan’s relatives and was already hand wound into all so unfortunately I can’t tell you what it is. I can however tell you what pattern I was using: http://www.lebenslustiger.com/serendipity/archives/279-I-Heart-Valentine-Crochet.html

I had picked up two second hand jumpers to use for wool and to start unravelling. I had already got a fair bit of the way into the grey one but the front panel was giving me some jip because of the decorative bobbles. The reason for unravelling was because I want to try and source my wool stash more ethically and I also remembered Wool Needles Hands talking about an unravelled KAL on youtube. There was a lovely ball of Stylecraft Milan in 5147 Tokyo that I found in the charity shop. I plan on making a pussy hat with it because it is so wonderfully fluffy and squishy.

Moving onto the only finished project I had this week and that was the first pair of vanilla socks I have managed to make. I had been promising my partner Morgan some socks for months and never really got round to making them but alas I succeeded after many attempts and fails. Finally I think I have a basic  vanilla sock pattern I can use when I want to knit socks. In the video I mentioned about writing a pattern for it but if people are interested I will probably just write a blog post explaining how I work everything out and go about things. The yarn I used was Regia “Jazz Color” in 06454 Kind of Blue.

My next sock project after I finish my ankle socks will be another pair of socks for Morgan but this time I will be using Stylecraft Special Aran in 1027 Khaki. These will be vanilla socks too because he will probably be using them for work.

The last segment of my podcast is Hedgerow ramblings, where I do just that – ramble! In this episode I showed you the book I am currently reading which is The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. As well as the two library books I took out which were: A Gift from Bob by James Bowen and Black Sheep by Richard Stephens.

I hope you’ll tune in next week to see what I’ve been up to. Don’t forget to join the ravelry group : The Crafty Hedgehog Podcast.

See you next time!

Rhiannon

Leave a Reply

