Show Notes

Podcast Episode Five | Show Notes

Hello everyone!

I managed to get a lot of knitting done this week so lets get into it!

FOs – Finished Objects:

I finished the second of Morgan’s socks. I was using my own vanilla sock recipe and I am pleased to say that I have managed to find the perfect recipe for Morgan’s socks! The wool I used was Adrifil Calazasocks in colour 40 Multi Green (75% wool/ 25% nylon) for the main body and Sunbeam St.Ives (80% wool/ 20% nylon) for the cuffs heels and toes.

When we went to Wales Morgan’s gran gave me a jumper to finish off for her, this consisted of sewing the seams together and knitting the crew neck. The pattern was The Body Block Sweater by Sublime. I used Sublime Luxurious Aran Tweed (40% wool/ 40% cotton, 20% llama) in Vineyard, Red Earth, Oak and Fauve.

I also got around to blocking my green triangle scarf. The pattern is the Dovetail Scarf by Purl Soho. The wool is Shropie Sheep on facebook (100% wool).

WIPs – Works In Progress:

I cast on my first jumper pattern this week, it is The Sweatshirt Sweater by Purl Soho and it is going to be for Morgan although I may steal it from time to time. The wool I am using is Wendy Aran With Wool (75% acrylic/ 25% wool) in Milkyway. So far both the sleeves are knitted and I am on the cuff of the bottom of the jumper.

My other WIP is on my drop spindle. I am spinning 100% merino wool from Fibrehut in Amber. Instead of parking and drafting I have changed to spinning while standing and the consistency of my wool is so much better after making that change. I plan on making it into a barber poled two ply lace weight or fingering wool.

WIP Wishlist:

I still need to cast on the second sock for myself using the Sunbeam St.Ives wool.

Morgan is in drastic need of another pair of handmade socks.

Hopefully I will start to work on the second colour of fibre so I can begin to ply them together.

Morgan has also commissioned me to make him a pair of thin gloves.

Aquisitions:

Book : Easy Fairisle Knits by Martin Storey.

Wool: Artesano Hummingbird 100% alpaca, Bergere de France Ideal 50g in The and 100g in Gerbille.

 

Thank you all for dropping in, see you again soon.

Rhiannon 🙂

Leave a Reply

